Discover What You’re Missing

[Originally posted on my old blog in 2013, then transferred here.]

I wait all year for Banned Books Week.

This year I’m hearing a lot about Persepolis, so I think that will have to be one of my first picks. I’ve checked it out from the library already, along with The Color of Earth, which I wanted to read last year but couldn’t get in time. I also grabbed The Great Gilly Hopkins from our display at work, and have been tracking down the entire Alice series at all the different branches of my local library.

I realized that, of the top ten list for 2012, I’ve only read four—Captain Underpants (one of them, anyway, and that was quite enough for me), And Tango Makes Three, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, and the Scary Stories series (when I was a kid). I have Beloved on my shelf right now, and I’m planning to start that on Sunday. Of the others, I have long intended to read The Kite Runner and Thirteen Reasons Why, but I don’t really want to read Fifty Shades of Grey, even for Banned Books Week. I started The Glass Castle once and it didn’t catch me, but I’m sure I will get back to it someday; maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

