I’ve read a lot of good things lately.

Every one of these was spontaneous, which was the best thing about them; I just saw them during a shift at work, thought they looked good, checked them out, and actually read them. The only exception was Divergent, which my sister bugged me for a couple weeks to read, and it was still spontaneous for me in the fact that I’d heard of it, but hadn’t even considered reading it yet. I get so caught up in my own lists, so stuck in my own head, that sometimes I stop being able to really appreciate the things I’m reading. Finding things and just reading them without planning is so wonderful and refreshing.

Top three, if I had to choose: Baby’s in Black, Bunheads, and The Wolves of Willoughby Chase. Each of these was a total surprise to me, and I breezed through them all very quickly. I picked up Willoughby Chase one day at my mom’s house when I’d found myself without any fiction to read, and because it’s one I’ve heard talked about a lot, but never even known what it was about. I thought the language was on the annoying side at first, but after just a few pages I was very interested, and ended up loving it.
Bunheads was on a cart of books I was sorting in the back room, and having just watched Black Swan (and subsequently entered a period of interest in ballet), I was excited to find it. It was simple, coming on the heels of Divergent, and it was a really refreshing change from all the dystopian life-and-death intensity; it was just an intriguing insight into an exciting, but relatively normal, world I’ve never seen.
Baby’s in Black, I’m deciding, is one of my favorites of the books I’ve read this year. It was just such a beautiful book, both visually and in the romance of its story and setting. It’s a graphic novel, and I read it in about half an hour, loving every panel and wishing I could go back in time to experience Hamburg in the 1960s. Read this on a rainy afternoon while drinking something warm, if you can. That’s what it makes you want to do.
I wholeheartedly recommend all of the others, too, if you’re looking for something good to read: Guards! Guards! (and anything else by Terry Pratchett—make sure you try the audiobooks), Steal Like an Artist, DivergentChristo and Jean-Claude: The GatesKazunomiya: Prisoner of Heaven, Little Red Fish, and Liberty or Death: The Surprising Story of Runaway Slaves who Sided with the British During the American Revolution.
Leave a Reply

