Best of 2015

This was a year of comics and biographies/memoirs for me. Most of the time I would say the bulk of my reading is fiction, some combination of adult and YA or middle grade. Not in 2015. In fact, if I had to pick only one book to call my ultimate favorite of the year, it’d be Rat Queens, a comic—something I never would have guessed if you’d asked me a year or two ago.

Stats:

32 adult fiction
31 biography/memoir
21 other nonfiction
67 graphic novels
8 young adult (excluding graphic novels)
17 middle grade
40 picture books (approximately)
16 audiobooks
2 rereads

47 written by authors of color
90 written by women
111 with female protagonists

I’d hoped to read fifty books by authors of color throughout the year, so I fell slightly short of that mark. But I’m not going to be too bothered by it, because I’m going to continue the effort next year as well, and I hope that by continuing to focus on it, it will become natural in my search for reading material.

Best adult fiction:

Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, by Haruki Murakami
The House on the Strand, by Daphne du Maurier
The Martian
, by Andy Weir
My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry, by Fredrik Backman
The Price of Salt, by Patricia Highsmith  (I forgot to include a picture of the cover, but I think all the covers for this book look wrong anyway, so I’m fine with it)
The Queen of the Tearling, by Erika Johansen
Vanessa and Her Sister, by Priya Parmar
The Watchmaker of Filigree Street, by Natasha Pulley


Best nonfiction and biography/memoir:

Between the World and Me, by Ta-Nehisi Coates
The Disappearing Spoon, by Sam Kean
Furiously Happy, by Jenny Lawson
H is for Hawk, by Helen Macdonald
My Beloved World, by Sonia Sotomayor
You’re Never Weird on the Internet, by Felicia Day


Best graphic novel/comics:

Rat Queens, by Kurtis J. Wiebe
Nimona, by Noelle Stevenson
Bandette, by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover
Hark! A Vagrant, by Kate Beaton
Lumberjanes, by Noelle Stevenson
The Wicked + The Divine, by Kieron Gillen
Captain Marvel: Higher, Further, Faster, More, by Kelly Sue deConnick
Wonder Woman, by Brian Azzarello


Best YA/middle grade:

Abhorsen, by Garth Nix
Bird, by Crystal Chan
The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom
, by Christopher Healy
Orleans, by Sherri Smith
The Thickety: A Path Begins, by J.A. White


Best picture books:

Before After, by Anne-Margot Ramstein
Emily’s Blue Period
, by Cathleen Daly
Hug Machine
, by Scott Campbell
Interstellar Cinderella, by Deborah Underwood
Julia’s House for Lost Creatures, by Ben Hatke
Last Stop on Market Street, by Matt de la Pena
One Big Pair of Underwear, by Laura Gehl
The Princess and the Pony, by Kate Beaton
This is Sadie, by Sara O’Leary
The Tree House, by Marije Tolman
Visiting Day, by Jacqueline Woodson

3 thoughts on “Best of 2015

Leave a Reply

