A Book Tag

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

I read in the car my entire childhood, and I really do mean entire; it was several years after my family moved to Texas before I could recognize a street anywhere outside my own neighborhood. I don’t read in the car anymore because it’s a lot harder to do that as an adult. 🙂 But actually, on road trips I will read aloud when it’s my husband’s turn to drive. So I guess that means the answer is still no.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Monica Byrne has only written one book so far, but it was the most actively female-centric book I’ve ever read—in a way that even ones with the most kick-ass female protagonists never seem to be. Every time you see a noun like “doctor” or “engineer” or “vendor,” when your brain automatically assumes male just because that’s how it always is, the word is followed closely by a female pronoun to snap you out of that assumption. That’s something I’ve been dying to find.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter. I loved Twilight when I first read it ten years ago, but I’m not a fan anymore.

  • Bella and Edward illustrate basically every warning sign of an abusive relationship.
  • The writing in Harry Potter is at least a million times more sophisticated (yes, that is real math).
  • The world-building is so much better, the character development is incredible, and I will take magic over vampires any day.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

I carry a purse. Besides my book, it has my wallet, phone, keys (with Kakashi keychain), Chapstick, ibuprofen and/or Excedrin, a pen (Jango Fett, from a cereal box), a little notebook, a tampon, and usually some movie ticket stubs.

5. Do you smell your books?

Obviously.

6. Books with or without little illustrations.

Without, but the ones with little illustrations are often very old, and I do like those for their own sake.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Haha. Twilight. Although I knew it at the time, I just didn’t care.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Funny stories… Not particularly? I used to read all the time, including recess, lunch, on the school bus, in the car, in the bathroom (where I sometimes fell asleep as a kid, so I guess that’s funny). When I got in trouble, my parents took away my books instead of grounding me.

9. What is the tiniest book on your shelf?

I can’t be sure without being at home to look, but it’s probably a very small book of French poems from the early 1900s.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Most likely the unabridged Les Miserables, by Victor Hugo, which I’ve been meaning to read since literally seventh grade.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I spent my whole childhood thinking I would be, but it turns out I have absolutely no imagination, so I can’t write fiction. I can, however, write excellent essays. So I guess I’m a nonfiction (and unpublished) writer.

12. When did you get into reading?

First or second grade, whenever I learned how to read. The first book I actually remember reading is Ramona Quimby, Age 8.

13. What is your favourite classic book?

Tess of the d’Urbervilles, by Thomas Hardy. It used to be Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte, but I haven’t read it since high school, so I need to read it again someday.

14. In school, was your best subject Language Arts/English?

By far.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

Regift it, if I know someone who would like it. Or sell to Half-Price Books.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Nothing compares to the scope of Harry Potter, but Fablehaven by Brandon Mull, Sabriel by Garth Nix, and Graceling by Kristin Cashore are three more of my favorite YA fantasy series. They’re all fantastic.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I don’t like to summarize books when I review them. I figure you can get the summary from the book jacket, or somewhere like Goodreads.

18. What is your favorite word?

My favorite word to see written is “breathe,” because something about that combination of letters just feels satisfying to me. My favorite word to hear spoken is “shukran,” which means “thank you” in Arabic.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I have no idea what the distinction is between dork and dweeb. I’ve always considered myself a nerd, and in the past few years I think I’m branching out into geek as well.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Fairies, I guess? I haven’t read much with fairies, but I could definitely be into it if we’re talking about ones like Maleficent. Human-sized.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shapeshifters, I suppose. Angels seem inherently tied to religion.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Either, but I’d really rather it be incidental than, like, the focus of the plot.

23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Neither. The end.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Forbidden if only because of how much I despise love triangles.

25. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Action! Although that’s not my main genre either, but I definitely don’t do romance.

2 thoughts on “A Book Tag

Leave a Reply

