Woman Rebel: The Margaret Sanger Story, by Peter Bagge

image

Four stars, read in August 2015.

It occurs to me that a lot of our current problems are still problems because people don’t know enough about Margaret Sanger. The divide over abortion and birth control persists a century later because people (especially men) don’t understand how inextricably sex and politics are linked for women, and this is what Sanger spent decades making people realize.

She has always been a particular target of slander and demonization from those who fear independent women, so even progressives come away with significant misunderstandings about her. This graphic memoir makes a point of explaining context, correcting false information, and pointing readers in the right direction for further research. I dislike the illustration style, but the book is a wonderfully important one.

“Government and industry have conspired to subjugate women for their own selfish ends . . . They want us to remain baby-making machines in order to replenish their armies and factories. Meanwhile, established religions—particularly the Catholic Church—have interpreted the sex act as a sordid and animalistic function that serves no purpose other than procreation . . . the inevitable result being war, poverty, child labor, crime and overpopulation . . . while taking a savage toll on the lives and health of women and their children.”

“Are you suggesting birth control will solve all these problems?”

“Let me put it this way: They cannot be solved without it.”

____

“Tonight I’d like to discuss the morality of birth control… When one acts recklessly and irresponsibly we regard such behavior as immoral . . . except, we’re told, when it comes to procreation—the results of which demand the most responsibility of us . . .

When women first demanded an education, it was argued that it would degrade our morals. The same with our demands to own property, drive a car, and the right to vote . . . All of which has come to pass, yet miraculously society hasn’t crumbled. Yet those same naysayers are convinced that our demand for voluntary motherhood and dominion over our own bodies will surely bring about the end of civilization.”

VOLUNTARY MOTHERHOOD. Possibly the two most important words in feminist history.

Read-alikes:

Rad American Women A-Z, by Kate Schatz and Miriam Klein Stahl
Primates: The Fearless Science of Jane Goodall, Dian Fossey, and Birute Galdikas, by Jim Ottaviani and Maris Wicks
No Girls Allowed, by Susan Hughes and Willow Dawson

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s