The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, by Rachel Joyce

13227454

Four stars, read in January 2016.

The thing Rachel Joyce did so well here is capture the particular agony of wanting to talk to someone, to fix something, to explain, to say you’re sorry—and just not being able to say words. When you can feel what’s wrong, and maybe you even feel like you can fix it, but then you go to speak and it’s so overwhelming that your brain can’t find a starting place. And even though you know the not speaking is making it worse, you’re completely helpless to do anything about it.

From the beginning the reader knows some terrible things have happened in Harold Fry’s life, but we start out with very little information and are only given more in slow drips throughout the book. I was afraid I would spend the whole time in suspense, impatiently awaiting the next reveal, but Harold’s journey is so engaging that I never had time.

I listened to the audiobook, and Jim Broadbent was the perfect narrator for this beautiful, heartbreaking journey.

 

Read-alike: The Language of Flowers, by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
                        Where’d You Go, Bernadette, by Maria Semple

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, by Rachel Joyce

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s