Things in Eights

8 Books I’m Reading (yes, these are actually all in progress right now):

  • Sisters in Law, by Linda Hirshman
  • My Life on the Road, by Gloria Steinem
  • Ancillary Justice, by Ann Leckie
  • The Interruption of Everything, by Terry McMillan
  • The Marriage Plot, by Jeffrey Eugenides
  • Nightmare Inspector, Vol. 1, by Shin Mashiba
  • Ready Player One, by Ernest Cline
  • Spark Joy, by Marie Kondo

8 TV Shows I’m Watching (not all actively, but in various stages of progress):

  • Naruto Shippuden
  • Fairy Tail
  • The Good Wife
  • House of Cards (US)
  • Keeping Up Appearances (a favorite choice when we want something entertaining without getting into a whole story)
  • Sex and the City (every now and then when I feel like re-watching a few episodes)
  • Samurai Champloo
  • Parks and Rec (haven’t finished the last season)

8 Favorite Restaurants:

  • Fillmore Pub
  • Pho is for Lovers
  • Zenna
  • Zhabuki
  • Best Thai
  • Chang Jing Korean BBQ
  • Coffee House Cafe
  • Cafe Brazil
8 Things That Happened Yesterday:
  • I rearranged the built-in bookshelf in our living room
  • went on my usual walk at lunch
  • read Ancillary Justice
  • checked out Ancillary Sword to take home
  • also checked out a yoga DVD because I want to start doing that again
  • got hit on at work
  • wow it’s really sad how hard I’m having to think about this; very little happens in my life on a Thursday I guess
  • had a martini (okay two)
8 Things I’m Looking Forward To:
  • seeing the Deadpool movie tomorrow after work
  • family night at my sister’s on Sunday to celebrate her birthday
  • reading my next David Mitchell book; haven’t decided yet whether it will be Black Swan Green or Number9Dream
  • the Captain Marvel and Wonder Woman movies
  • having a particular loan paid off in October so I can get my transcript released and start working toward my Masters in Library Science
  • possibly getting a good tax return this year, possibly doing something cool with it
  • going to Seattle sometime . . . hopefully a visit, eventually moving there if life ever decides to cooperate
  • reaching the end of my six-month probationary period at work in a few weeks (new job probation, not disciplinary)

8 Songs I’m Listening To:

  • “I Will Never Love Again,” from the Princess Bride soundtrack
  • “The Man Who Sold the World,” Nirvana, Unplugged in New York
  • “All Apologies,” Nirvana, Unplugged in New York
  • “Dig Me Out,” Sleater-Kinney
  • “No Cities to Love,” Sleater-Kinney
  • “Bojack’s Theme,” by Patrick Carney, from Bojack Horseman
  • “Doomsday Theme,” from the Doctor Who soundtrack
  • “All Apologies,” Sinead O’Connor

8 Things On My Wish List:

  • this pocket edition of The Hobbit

Hobbit

  • Hayao Miyazaki, Wes Anderson, and Melissa McCarthy movies I don’t own yet
  • some beautiful bracelets from Plasticland and Etsy, which is silly because I almost never wear bracelets, but I love these so much I feel like I’d have to
  • Frasier Fir candles
  • to take one of the many trips I’ve planned
  • new bedding, a bed frame, and nightstands
  • art for the walls that are still blank in our apartment
  • a bunch of new trades of the comics I’m reading (Rat QueensThe Wicked + The Divine, Black WidowSquirrel GirlThor) and ones I want to read (Spider-WomanSpider-GwenSilkStorm, Supergirl)

8 Things I’m Dreading and/or Putting Off:

  • getting the physical I have to get before the six month probation is up
  • calling the doctor’s office to schedule said physical
  • putting away the laundry we did Sunday night
  • several difficult/annoying quests in Skyrim
  • going through all my stuff and cleaning it out, inspired by The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo
  • actually purchasing the car insurance quote we got like two months ago
  • reading the book I got from the little free library for a reading scavenger hunt I’m doing; it didn’t really appeal to me but the alternatives were mostly Glenn Beck so I had few options
  • going back to visit my old job, which I promised them I’d do when I left five months ago and haven’t yet
Leave a Reply

