Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a useful one! In writing it, I got to look through all the things I’ve got on my shelf—the ones I’ve bought recently, the ones I brought back from San Francisco, the books I have from both my local library and the one where I work—and decide that it’s about time I get around to actually reading them. This includes some I’m using for particular reading challenges, and some I’m just really excited about (only a few more weeks until Rat Queens volume three comes out!).

 

 

Akira, Vol. 1, by Katsuhiro Otomo

Ancillary Sword, by Ann Leckie

Ariel, by Sylvia Plath

Batgirl, Vol. 1: The Darkest Reflection, by Gail Simone

Black Widow, Vol. 3: Last Days, by Nathan Edmondson and Phil Noto

Calling Dr. Laura, by Nicole J. Georges

The Changeling, by Kenzaburo Oe

Cool Japan: A Guide to Tokyo, Kyoto, Tohoku and Japanese Culture Past and Present, by Sumiko Kajiyama

Copperhead, Vol. 1, by Jay Faerber and Scott Godlewski

Crime and Punishment, by Fyodor Dostoevsky

The Diving Pool, by Yoko Ogawa

Empress, by Shan Sa

The Fever, by Wallace Shawn

From Girls to Grrrlz: A History of Female Comics from Teens to Zines, by Trina Robbins

I See You Made an Effort: Compliments, Indignities, and Survival Stories from the Edge of 50, by Annabelle Gurwitch

Number9Dream, by David Mitchell

Ody-C, Vol. 1: Off to Far Ithicaa, by Matt Fraction and Christian Ward

Phonogram, Vol. 1: Rue Britannica, by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie

Rat Queens, Vol. 3: Demons, by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Tess Fowler

The Return of the Native, by Thomas Hardy

Sex Criminals, Vol. 2: Two Worlds, One Cop, by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky

Solanin, by Inio Asano

Under the Udala Trees, by Chinelo Okparanta

 

What’s on your shelf waiting to be picked up?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

    1. On the one hand, I do read a lot, and at least half of these are graphic novels. On the other hand, I also have Plath, Hardy, and Dostoevsky up there. So yeah, we’ll see. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is quite a list! The Return of the Native is one of my all time favorites, although Hardy’s kind of a love him or hate him writer. Number9Dream is one of the few by Mitchell I haven’t read yet. I want to hear more about Wallace Shawn’s book!

    Like

    1. I’ve only read Tess of the d’Urbervilles, but it’s one of my favorite books, so I’ve been looking forward to reading more Hardy for a long time. I’ve been burning through Mitchell’s books, too—after this I have Black Swan Green and then I’ll have finished all of his major works. I haven’t loved any of them as much as I loved Cloud Atlas, but I definitely consider him one of my favorite writers now.

      Have you read Wallace Shawn’s interview with the Paris Review? I was pretty floored when I read it (I wrote a post about it a few months ago) and that’s what made me pick up Fever when I saw it at my bookstore the other day. I’ll let you know when I get to it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

