Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl, by Carrie Brownstein

25065629

Four stars, read in December 2015.

I was a little afraid, as I often am with celebrity memoirs, that this wouldn’t live up to my anticipation of it. I knew Carrie Brownstein mostly from Portlandia, but I’d heard of Sleater-Kinney and knew enough about that to be really excited for the book. I was not disappointed.

It’s got all the insider information you’d probably be hoping for if you’ve been a fan of the band, which can’t help but be interesting in itself. I loved reading about their start in Seattle, the difficulties of touring, the way they write their music. But for me, by far, the most compelling aspect was her personal journey, her examination of the sort of desperate mania that drove her to music, that constant need to define herself and find somewhere she belonged.

I listened to all of Dig Me Out one night in the middle of my reading, and it was brilliant—you can hear the fury, the anxiety. I relate to her so strongly. I can’t wait to track down the rest of their albums, or for Sleater-Kinney to play a show somewhere near me. I missed their most recent tour since they started playing again, but I will do everything I can to be there next time.

One thought on “Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl, by Carrie Brownstein

Leave a Reply

