Totally Should’ve Book Tag

Borrowed from Elena Square Eyes, on whose blog I found it!

1. Totally should’ve gotten a sequel

Purple Hibiscus, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, because I would love to know what Kambili’s life looks like after she escapes her tyrannical father and religion.

2. Totally should’ve had a spin off series

Rat Queens, by Kurtis J. Wiebe and various illustrators. A series following one of the other guilds—the Peaches or Four Daves—would be so fantastic.

3. An author who should totally write more books

Hannah Kent, Allegra Goodman, and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I had one of those amazing reading years in 2014, where I read a disproportionate number of brilliant books and discovered outstanding new authors, and these three are the ones who don’t have anything else for me to read until they publish something new. Also Barbara Kingsolver, because it’s been four years since Flight Behavior and I’m ready for something new.

4. A character who totally should’ve ended up with someone else

(where someone else = no one)

Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins
Marilyn Grimes from The Interruption of Everything, by Terry McMillan

Also . . . Harry Potter and Ginny Weasley. I never understood the two of them together.

5. Totally should’ve ended differently

A Personal Matter, by Kenzaburo Oe. This is one of my favorite books and I can appreciate the ending the way it is, but I really thought it would go differently.

6. Totally should’ve had a movie franchise

Graceling, by Kristin Cashore. Hands-down one of the best fantasy series I’ve read, and I would so love to see Katsa on screen.

7. Totally should’ve had a TV show

The Queen of the Tearling, by Erika Johansen

8. Totally should’ve had only one point of view

Umm I don’t know? This is a strangely specific question, and I don’t think I have an answer for it.

9. Totally should have a cover change

265021

I love this manga but don’t understand the cover of the first book at all, because those girls look nothing like Yaya and Nana.

10. Totally should’ve stopped at book one

Crazy Rich Asians, by Kevin Kwan. I didn’t like it, and now there’s a sequel and a movie coming out, and I’m frustrated that I didn’t like it because it’s an important part of the diversity conversation and the movie will be too, and I wish I could be excited about it for that reason. Actually, though, I’ve just realized that a movie might be better than the book because surely it won’t do the thing where it mentions every single brand name purchased by every character the way the book does! So that’s hopeful news, and now I’m happy.

11. Totally should’ve kept the original covers

Fablehaven, which I have previously written an entire post about, and the Books of Bayern by Shannon Hale. They started out with lovely fairy tale-ish covers by Alison Jay, then got the generic photograph cover treatment. The new ones aren’t terrible, and I like the color schemes, but I’m just never a fan of photograph covers. (I didn’t even know there was an Alison Jay cover for Forest Born until right now, and it’s the most beautiful one!)

collage28afee4aaec8b799377928b203c6aef19d224255d5681c3304b42a3d

2 thoughts on “Totally Should’ve Book Tag

  1. Glad to see Chimamanda Adichie getting so much love. She’s so brilliant! I can’t wait to read Purple Hisbiscus to finish reading all her major novels.

    I bought Rat Queens this past weekend because I’m finally starting to appreciate graphic novels. Lol. Don’t know what I was thinking before. 😣

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhhh Rat Queens. I seriously can’t shut up about that comic, I love it so much. I hope you like it! And yes, Adichie is one of my very favorites.

      Like

Leave a Reply

