Hollywood Women Memoirs

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling
Three and a half stars, read in October 2015.

I like Mindy Kaling, and I enjoyed her first book. This second one was ninety percent frivolous and fun, ten percent actual awesome shit. The last couple pages made me feel like it was a much more important book than it was the rest of the time, but even if it had been generally garbage, it would have been worth it for this quote. This is why Mindy Kaling is culturally important:

“People’s reaction to me is sometimes, ‘Uch, I just don’t like her. I hate how she thinks she is so great.’ But it’s not that I think I’m so great. I just don’t hate myself. I do idiotic things all the time and I say crazy stuff I regret, but I don’t let everything traumatize me. And the scary thing I have noticed is that some people feel really uncomfortable around women who don’t hate themselves.”

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost), by Felicia Day
Four stars, read in November 2015.

Unlike many people who write funny memoirs, Felicia Day has something important to say (not that there’s anything wrong with writing just to be funny). Parts of it were just fun and geeky, like her earliest years in online gaming, and then parts were really personal—in the sense that she is kind of horribly good at representing the hell of intense anxiety and depression. I was actually sort of frustrated that it was so good, because I’d already voted for Furiously Happy for that category in the Goodreads Choice Awards, and I really wanted to vote for both.

I read it on Overdrive, which is how I know it took me exactly four hours and 26 minutes. It also made me want to watch The Guild, since I’d only seen one episode online a long time ago, so I went home immediately to find it on Netflix. It was fun for a while, then started to drive me insane. But the book is very worth reading.

Self-Inflicted Wounds: Heartwarming Tales of Epic Humilitation, by Aisha Tyler
Three stars, read in November 2015.

I knew Aisha Tyler first as Charlie on Friends, then as the voice of Lana on Archer, and it turns out she’s had an interesting career beyond those shows as well. The book wasn’t anything remarkable, but I enjoyed it (probably should have written about it in November when I could remember some specifics, but I don’t think I had much to say at the time, either). If you’re a fan of any of her work, it’s worth checking out. She narrates the audiobook herself.

Leave a Reply

