Books I Would Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed Me A Fully Loaded Gift Card

Check out Top Ten Tuesday at The Broke and the Bookish.

Whether or not I always have a specific list in mind, if I go to a bookstore intending to spend money, it’s guaranteed I’ll find something I’ve been wanting for a very long time. For this, though, I started thinking about the ones I’ve had on my wish list (for years, in some cases)—the ones I always look for at the used bookstore, “making the rounds” to see if any have shown up since the last time I was there—or the ones I know I’m going to have to buy online, if in fact I ever do buy them, because they’re pretty obscure and/or absurdly expensive.

For some reason, probably seven or eight years ago, I found all of the Tales of the Otori in awesome tiny paperbacks, except for one right in the middle. Lord Fujiwara’s Treasures is the first “episode” in the second book (or the third book if you look at it as a series of six). So despite having owned the first book since 2009 or 2010, I still haven’t read it, because I’m waiting to find this one. Every time I don’t find it on the shelf, I think WHY haven’t I just bought it online already? And then I forget until next time.

The last library I worked at had The Book of the World in its reference section, and I just thought it was fascinating. I’d love to own a copy.

I’ve been coveting this absolutely gorgeous French edition of Emma for at least a couple years now, ever since I saw it come through at my library. No, I can’t read in French, but I would love to someday.

I own a cheap paperback copy of The Hobbit already, but I’ve always loved the pocket edition with Tolkien’s original artwork. I have a thing for tiny hardcover books.

I’d really rather have the entire collection of Alison Bechdel’s Dykes to Watch Out For, but it’s easier to put just one picture.

Baby’s in Black and A+E 4ever are both just beautiful, highly atmospheric graphic novels I have read and adored. Anytime something achieves that kind of mood while I’m reading it, I know I’ll want to have it on hand to read whenever I want.

One thought on “Books I Would Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed Me A Fully Loaded Gift Card

Leave a Reply

