Books I Own But Haven’t Read

Check out Top Ten Tuesday at The Broke and the Bookish.

For a while I was trying to be better about this, but I think at this point it’s something I have to accept about myself: I will always collect books faster than I can read them. I actually think I’ve been much worse than usual lately, because for a few months I’ve just been finding amazing things in the clearance section at my used bookstore, and when gorgeous books are two dollars you really just cannot expect a person to leave them unpurchased. These are my four most recent book hauls:

Six of those are books I bought because I’d already read and loved them, but that leaves 21 additions to my ever-growing TBR list.

Here’s the thing: I couldn’t do a list right now of every book on my shelves that I haven’t read yet, because it would be absurd and neither of us has that kind of time. So I decided to just pick a few, ones I’ve owned for a particularly long time or just ones I really wish I would finally get around to picking up:

7 thoughts on “Books I Own But Haven’t Read

  1. I have the same propensity! I think I have bought about 20 used books in the last month (including Doris Lessing’s The Golden Notebook, which I got for 50p = $0.66!). Of your immediate TBR I thought The Library at Mount Char was pretty cool – very dark and funny, and Fear of Flying was one of the books my English teacher loaned me at high school that really first switched me on to feminism (the other was Marilyn French’s The Women’s Room which I really want to re-read soon) so I’d recommend those.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s such a bibliophile problem! And probably why there’s do many read my own books and tbr challenges🙈 I do this as well, shiny new books keep distracting me. Love the Dorothy Parker, have the same edition! Also Cutting for Stone, have heard amazing things but it’s still on my tbr unread. Good luck with reading your own books😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Les Miserables is the most egregious entry here, because I actually started it in seventh grade. I made it about 150 pages in, but now it’s been . . . Um, twenty years . . . And I have yet to finish.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

