Round Two Update, Because Otherwise I Will Have Nothing to Distract Me from the Unbearable Anticipation and Apprehension of Today

I’ve started The North WaterI’m not very far in, but have to say, I am underwhelmed, hoping it starts to click soon—and in the next day or two I need to start To the Bright Edge of the World. There are at least four or five others that I would love to read among the historical fiction nominees, but being historical fiction, they’re on the larger side and I don’t think I’ll have time.

I finished all four of the fiction nominees I wanted to read from the first round, so I may or may not try The Girls, which has since come in on hold for me.

Probably won’t attempt to add anything in humor, unless any of my libraries have Alan Partridge’s Nomad (just checked, they don’t). None of the nominees catch my eye this year, which is sad.

I brought home Dark Money and need to start that ASAP. Will hopefully track down a few others soon.

I’m three-quarters of the way through The Rainbow Comes and Goes, and I’m liking it so much that it’s keeping me from reading other books in categories where I don’t yet know how I’ll vote. Jessica Valenti’s Sex Object is in this round (was it in the last and I just didn’t notice?) and I love everything I ever see that woman say, so I really should try to read it in time for the next vote. I’m intrigued by Bruce Springsteen’s book after hearing his interview with Terry Gross, but I imagine that’ll be a popular one, might be hard to track down.

Don’t think I’ll have time to read any more in the science category, unless I find a copy of Thing Explainer. I started that when it first came out, but didn’t get far into it. Still finishing up Grunt on audio in my car (it’s fascinating) and The Genius of Birds, which I’ve accepted will take me longer than the voting goes.

Ah, damnwas March book three in the first round of voting? The first two were incredible. I’ll have to check it out. I still have Orange on hold, but I don’t think it’s going to come in time. Could read Paper Girls if I ever finally get around to it; I bought the trade months ago but for some reason haven’t picked it up yet.

I wasn’t planning to look at the YA category at all this yearI don’t even recognize any of the titlesbut just this morning a friend recommended The Female of the Species to me on Goodreads, and I did have that one marked as to-read, and YA books go really quickly . . . I’ll have to think about that possibility.

It feels weird that I haven’t read any in the fantasy or science fiction categories, but I’m just not familiar enough with any of the names that I feel like I can jump into them. I do want to read Dark Matter, but it’s more of an eventual desire, not an immediate one. And I have All the Birds in the Sky on hold, but it hasn’t come back yet. I keep hearing about A Gathering of Shadows but haven’t looked at it myself; I don’t even know what the plot is. Maybe that’s one I could look into.

Is anyone else trying to read some of the nominees? Which ones have you voted for?

2 thoughts on “Round Two Update, Because Otherwise I Will Have Nothing to Distract Me from the Unbearable Anticipation and Apprehension of Today

Leave a Reply

