Authors I Read for the First Time in 2016

Check out Top Ten Tuesday at The Broke and the Bookish.

I read a lot of authors for the first time this year, but there were two subcategories that stood out to me, so I decided to limit the list to that. First, there are authors who have several books, at least one of which I’ve been meaning to read for a long time:

Mary Roach
Helen Oyeyemi
Elizabeth Strout
James Baldwin
Elena Ferrante
Ryu Murakami
Richard Dawkins

Then we have authors I discovered this year, with whom I fell immediately in love so that I went on to read or purchase several more of their books:

Wallace Shawn
Natsuo Kirino
Yoko Ogawa
Kenzaburo Oe

And I have to give David Mitchell an honorable mention, because although I read my first of his books (Cloud Atlas) in 2014, this was the year that I discovered how much I love him, and went on a reading spree.

3 thoughts on “Authors I Read for the First Time in 2016

    1. My interest actually tapered off quite a bit toward the end of Grunt, but I don’t know if that was the book or just my mood. But of course I’ve been hearing about Mary Roach for a long time, so I’m glad to have finally read one of her books, and I’d like to read more.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

