Spring Reading

I’m checking several important things off my TBR this spring, thanks to the interlibrary loan program where I work. My copy of Women, Race and Class came from one of the Texas A&M libraries, and while its first few pages had been annoyingly vandalized, it also had the infinitely redeeming quality of having been signed by Angela Davis. Not that reading someone’s words isn’t intimate enough, but this personal connection was kind of thrilling to me; the more of Angela Davis I read (especially her autobiography), the more in awe of her I become.

I’m still working on my posts for these books, but you don’t have to wait for me to tell you that I loved them all.

 

The closeup on the bottom left is of a random page I was reading in Sister Outsider, by Audre Lorde.

We’ve had a lot of fabulous weather days lately (the last, I am sure, before the evil of summer kicks in) . . . Perfect for reading outside.

20170409_16125320170409_16120220170327_142833

This last photo was taken in my new favorite spot of the public library nearest my house (not the same one where I work). Sitting next to this window with the afternoon sun behind me, I was in a pocket of sunlight so bright I had to wear my sunglasses to be able to look at the page—and then the light ended just beyond my feet, so that the rest of the room was especially dim. (I tried unsuccessfully to take the photo from behind my sunglasses, so you’ll have to imagine the room darker than it shows.) It felt like perfect serendipity, the sun just warm enough that I didn’t have to wear a sweater in the otherwise freezing room, and I read there happily for a long time.

Leave a Reply

