Milk and Honey, by Rupi Kaur

23513349

Five stars, read in May 2017.

Man, I have not been keeping up with things lately. I’ve started a new job and no longer have all the blogging time I used to, but the only computer we have at home is a shitty laptop that is so shitty I never want to use it. So I’m working on figuring out when and where I’m going to do this from now on.

Milk and Honey is a gorgeous collection of poetry. Kaur depicts pain and trauma with an aptness and intensity I’ve rarely encountered, but she’s also very optimistic in a way that’s unsatisfying to me. Do you know the disappointment of a beautiful, melancholy song in a minor key that suddenly resolves into a major key? It always feels like a small betrayal when that happens, as though the artist is just plastering on a smile and pretending the sadness wasn’t that big a deal after all. That’s what this was like. The pain is so perfectly rendered, and it feels so incredible to see that someone else understands—but then I read a poem about how happy and fine she is now, and it lets the air out a little bit. It was a strange mix of feelings for me, though it doesn’t at all diminish my appreciation of her brilliance.

These are a few of my favorites from the collection:

 

love is not cruel
we are cruel
love is not a game
we have made a game
out of love

 

people go
but how
they left
always stays

 

i don’t know why
i split myself open
for others knowing
sewing myself up
hurts this much
afterward

 

i came all this way
to give you all these things
but you aren’t even looking

 

the idea that we are
so capable of love
but still choose
to be toxic

 

there is nothing
more painful than
grieving someone
who’s still living

 

10254068_279890082172249_518003585_n

MH-YSE-2

I will definitely be looking for more of Kaur’s poetry soon.

2 thoughts on “Milk and Honey, by Rupi Kaur

  1. Congrats on the new job!
    I was in a similar situation once. What I did was write out my reviews and other posts and quickly type them up whenever I got on a computer. At that time, I had to use the family computer, which was slow and shared with everyone in the house, which meant limited time spent online.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, man, I remember those days. Sharing a family computer is not fun. 🙂 But yes, I’m probably going to have to start doing something like that. Maybe I’ll try using my phone’s voice dictation to get the bulk of it, then fix all the punctuation, etc. when I can get on a computer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

